Peter Pan

The Boy Who Would Not Grow Up

1st December 1983

The Barbican Theatre, RSC


Adapted by John Caird and Trevor Nunn

This was the first revival of the 1982/83 RSC production. It opened at the Barbican Theatre on the 17th December 1983 and ran throughout the Christmas season. 

It was revived again at the Barbican for the RSC Christmas season of 1984/5.

The Adapters and Directors were greatly indebted to Andrew Birkin, the world authority on Peter Pan, for his invaluable help with the text.

Creative Team

DirectorsJohn Caird and Trevor Nunn
DesignerJohn Napier
CostumesAndreane Neofitou
LightingDavid Hersey
MusicStephen Oliver
Fights DirectorMalcolm Ransom
Design Supervisor William Lockwood
Lighting Supervisor Jo Celder
Dance Assistant Noelyn George
Assistant Director Brigid Larmour
Script Assistant Sarah Spare
Stage Manager Monica McCabe
Deputy Stage Manager Hilary Groves
Assistant Stage Manager Michael Stanislaw
The production was sponsored by James M. Nederlander and presented in association with the Great Ormond Street Hospital for Sick Children


The Storyteller Edward Petherbridge
Mr Darling Stephen Moore
Mrs Darling Frances Tomelty
Wendy Katy Behean
John David Parfitt
Michael John McAndrew
Nana Alexandra Brook
Liza Sara Mair-Thomas
Peter Pan Mark Rylance
Tinker Bell Katherine Levy
The Ostrich David Phelan
Slightly Michael Fitzgerald
Tootles Mike Grady
Nibs Simon Butteriss
Curly John Tramper
First Twin Floyd Bevan
Second Twin John Dougall
Cecco Stephen Rashbrook
Bill Jukes Andrew Jarvis
Cookson Robin Meredith
Gentleman Starkey George Parsons
Skylights Ray Llewellyn
Smee Jimmy Gardner
Noodler Tony Westrope
Robert Mullins Peter Ellis
Captain James Hook Stephen Moore
The Crocodile Andrew Jarvis & Stephen Rashbrook
Great Big Little Panther Mike Murray
Tiger Lily Susan Leong
The Piccanninny Tribe Alexandra Brook, Simon Clark, Noelyn George, Katherine Levy, Sara Mair-Thomas, David Phelan, Ken Robertson, Jayne Tottman
The Mermaids Alexandra Brook, Noelyn George, Katherine Levy, Sara Mair-Thomas, Jayne Tottman
The Never Bird Noelyn George
Chay Turley Simon Clark
George Scourie Richard Clifford
Wibbles Ken Robertson
Alsatian Fogerty Mike Murray
Canary Robb David Phelan
Jane Jayne Tottman


Musical Director/Piano/Synthesiser Richard Brown
Trumpets Roderick Tearle/Colin Rae
Horns Brian Newman/Duncan Hollowood
Trombone David Hissey
Flute Christopher Lacey
Oboe Caroline Marwood
Clarinet Victor Slaymark
Bassoon Peter Whittaker
Cello Andrea Hess
Percussion Tony McVey/Peter Washtell