Peter Pan


The Boy Who Would Not Grow UP

A Fantasy in Five Acts


Adapted by John Caird and Trevor Nunn

This was the final National Theatre revival of the original RSC version of J. M. Barrie’s source material.  It opened at the Olivier auditorium of the National Theatre on 17th December 1998 and played throughout the Christmas season.

The RSC version is published by DPS in New York.

The NT version was published by Methuen in England.

The Adapters and Directors were greatly indebted to Andrew Birkin, the world authority on Peter Pan, for his invaluable help with the text.

Creative Team

Director - Fiona Laird
Original production directed by John Caird & Trevor Nunn
Set Designer - John Napier
Costume Designer - Andreane Neofitou
Original Lighting Designer - David Hersey
Lighting recreated by Steve Barnett
Music - Stephen Oliver
In a new version by Jonathan Dove
Additional Lyrics by Stephen Oliver & Fiona Laird
Music Director – Mark W. Dorrell
Assisted by Steven Edis
Director of Movement – Jane Gibson
Company Voice Work – Patsy Rodenburg
Fight Director - Malcolm Ransom
Flying by Foy
Sound Designer – Scott Myers
Sound recreated by Colin Pink


Staff Director – Janine Davies
Consultant Staff Director – Loveday Ingram
Assistant Voice Coach – Jeanette Nelson
Assistant to the Designer – Roz Coombes
Design Assistants – Alban Oliver, John Stevenson
Costume Supervisor – Diane Bentley
Costume Assistant – Rodger Bremble
Flying Director – Lee Stephenson
Flying Supervisor – Scott Hope
Production Manager – Annie Gosney
Deputy Production Manager – Tom Richardson

Stage Manager – Angela Fairclough
Deputy Stage Manager – Hilary Stephens
Assistant Stage Managers – Helen Barrett, Peter Gregory

The production was sponsored by James M. Nederlander and presented in association with the Great Ormond Street Hospital for Sick Children, in whom the copyright of Peter Pan was vested.


Peter Pan Cover

Peter Pan


The Storyteller – Michael Bryant

Mr Darling – David Troughton
Mrs Darling – Susannah Fellows
Wendy – Rebecca Johnson
John – Adrian Ross-Magenty
Michael – Jonathan Broadbent
Nana – Jan Knightly
Liza – Annabel Dowler

Peter Pan – Justin Salinger
The Voice of Tinker Bell – Inka Magnussen

Slightly – Jonny Hoskins
Tootles – Kieron Forsyth
Nibs – John Dorney
Curly – Mark Cronfield
First Twin – Peter McCabe
Second Twin – Jason Thorpe

Cecco – Jim Creighton
Bill Jukes – Liam McKenna
Cookson – Martin Chamberlain
Gentleman Starkey – Hugh Sachs
Skylights – Glynn Sweet
Smee – Christopher Luscombe
Noodler – Jan Knightly
Robert Mullins – Jonathan Kemp
Wibbles – Ben Mangham

Captain James Hook – David Troughton

Ostrich – Richard Ryder

Great Big Little Panther – Ben Mangham
Lone Wolf – David Massey
Tiger Lily – In-Sook Chappell
The Indian Tribe – Adam Croasdell, Kay Curram, Annabel Dowler, Sarah Lonton, Inka Magnussen, Richard Ryder

The Mermaids – Kay Curram, Annabel Dowler, Sarah Lonton, Inka Magnussen
The Never Bird – Susannah Fellows

Chay Turley – Richard Ryder
Alsatian Fogerty – David Massey
Canary Robb – Adam Croasdell

Jane – Kay Curram


Production Photographer – Catherine Ashmore