Peter Pan


The Boy Who Would Not Grow Up

A Fantasy in Five Acts


Adapted by John Caird and Trevor Nunn

This was a further adaptation of the original Royal Shakespeare Company version of J. M. Barrie’s source material, first performed at the Olivier auditorium of the National Theatre on 16th December 1997.

The RSC version is published by DPS in New York.

The NT version was published by Methuen in England.

The Adapters and Directors were greatly indebted to Andrew Birkin, the world authority on Peter Pan, for his invaluable help with the text.

Creative Team

Director - John Caird with Fiona Laird
Settings - John Napier
Costumes - Andreane Neofitou
Lighting - David Hersey
Music - Stephen Oliver
In a new version by Jonathan Dove
Additional Lyrics by Stephen Oliver & Fiona Laird
Music Director – Mark W Dorrell
Director of Movement – Jane Gibson
Company Voice Work – Patsy Rodenburg
Fight Director - Malcolm Ransom
Flying by Foy
Sound Designer – Scott Myers

Staff Director – Loveday Ingram
Assistant Voice Coach – Jeanette Nelson
Assistant to the Designer – Roz Coombes
Assistant to the Lighting Designer – Steve Barnett
Design Assistants – Derek Norman, Alban Oliver, John Stevenson
Costume Supervisor – Di Bentley
Flying Director – Lee Stephenson
Flying Supervisor – Scott Hope
Production Manager – Annie Gosney
Deputy Production Manager – Tom Richardson

Stage Manager – Angela Fairclough
Deputy Stage Manager – Hilary Stephens
Assistant Stage Managers – Peter Gregory & Marion Myers

The production was sponsored by James M. Nederlander and presented in association with the Great Ormond Street Hospital for Sick Children, in whom the
copyright of Peter Pan was vested.


Peter Pan

Peter Pan 2


The Storyteller – Alec McCowen

Mr Darling – Ian McKellen
Mrs Darling – Jenny Agutter
Wendy – Claudie Blakely
John – Adrian Ross-Magenty
Michael – Daniel Hart
Nana – Jan Knightly
Liza – Liza Hayden

Peter Pan – Daniel Evans
The Voice of Tinker Bell – Sally-Ann Burnett

Slightly – Daniel Coonan
Tootles – Wayne Cater
Nibs – Harold Finlay
Curly – Jonny Hoskins
First Twin – Mark Channon
Second Twin – Dominic McHale

Cecco – Anthony Venditti
Bill Jukes – Liam McKenna
Cookson – Michael Mawby
Gentleman Starkey – Bryan Robson
Skylights – Patrick Romer
Smee – Clive Rowe
Noodler – Jan Knightly
Robert Mullins – Robert Aldous

Captain James Hook – Ian McKellen

Great Big Little Panther – Murray McArthur
Tiger Lily – Nathalie Tinn
The Indian Tribe – Michelle Abrahams, Naomi Capron, Jim Creighton, Ben Mangham

The Mermaids – Michelle Abrahams, Sally-Ann Burnett, Naomi Capron

The Never Bird – Jenny Agutter

Chay Turley – Jim Creighton
Alsatian Fogerty – Simon Penman
Canary Robb – Ben Mangham

Jane – Michelle Abrahams

Production Photographer – Gautier Deblonde