A Midsummer Night's DreaM


by William Shakespeare


This Royal Shakespeare Company production was first performed at the Shakespeare Memorial Theatre at Stratford-upon-Avon on 30th March 1989, opening to the press on 11th April.

It ran in repertoire through the 1989 Stratford season and then toured the UK before opening at the Barbican Theatre on 4th December 1989 where it played in repertoire through the 1990 season.

Creative Team

Directed by John Caird
Designed by Sue Blane
Lighting by Alan Burrett
Music by Ilona Sekacz and Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy
Choreography by Anthony Van Laast


Theseus – John Carlisle
Hippolyta – Clare Higgins
Egeus – Russell Enoch
Hermia – Amanda Bellamy
Helena – Sarah Crowden
Demetrius – Paul Lacoux
Lysander – Stephen Simms

Peter Quince – Paul Webster
Bottom – David Troughton
Flute – Graham Turner
Snug – Jimmy Gardner
Snout – David Shaw-Parker
Starveling – Dhobi Oparei

Oberon – John Carlisle
Titania – Clare Higgins
Puck – Richard McCabe
First Fairy – Liza Hayden
Indian Boy – Krishnan Chauhan/Mandip Jheeta

Oberon’s Fairies – Keith Goozee /Peter Hamilton-Dyer/AndrewHavill/Neil  Richardson
Titania’s Fairies – Sharon Hinds/Polly Kemp/Jacqueline Leonard

Mustardseed – Jodie Ball/Chloe Trotman
Peaseblossom – Charlotte Bridgewater/Fiona Gibson
Cobweb – Zachary Gregory/Richard Handy
Moth – Curtis Mason/Mark Seavers

At the Barbican Theatre

Ian Embleton took over fairying duties from Peter Hamilton Dyer

The Indian Boy was played by Kemal Ibrahim or Halal Miah

The fairy children were:

Mustardseed – Carlie Gabriel/Lisa O’Connell
Peaseblossom – Victoria Avery/Stephanie Bagshaw
Cobweb – John Bingham/Andrew Dicks
Moth – Karl Maddix/Henry Toller