Don Giovanni

Canadian Opera Company

An Opera in two acts

by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Libretto by Lorenzo da Ponte


Click here for a photo gallery of this production

This was a new production for the Welsh National Opera.  It opened at the Millennium Centre in Cardiff on 16th October 2011 and toured the UK through the autumn season to Liverpool, Swansea, Llandudno, Bristol, Birmingham, Oxford and Southampton.


Creative Team

Director – John Caird
Designer – John Napier
Costume Designers – John Napier & Yoon Bae
Lighting Designer – David Hersey
Choreographer – Kate Flatt
Fight Director – Kevin McCurdy
Staff Directors – Caroline Chaney & Sam Caird
Associate Lighting Designer (Tour) – Ian Jones
Language Coach – Maria Grazia Gould
Dramaturg & Surtitles – Simon Rees
Artistic Director of WNO – David Pountney

Conductor – Lothar Keonigs
Associate Conductor – James Southall
Repetiteur – Stephen Wood
Chorus Master – Stephen Harris
Head of Music – Russell Moreton
Continuo – Stephen Wood & Alexandra Robinson
Leader of the Orchestra– David Adams

Stage Manager – Katie Heath-Jones
Stage Manager – Julia Carson Sims
Assistant Stage Managers – Suzie Erith & Jenni Price
Head of Costume – Siân Price
Props Technician – Barbara Leith
Head of Wigs and Make-up – Siân McCabe

Production Manager – Robert Pagett
Technical Director – Jan Michaelis


Production Shot 2


Don Giovanni – David Kempster
Leporello -  David Soar

Commendatore – Carlo Malinvero
Donna Anna – Camilla Roberts
Don Ottavio – Robin Tritschler

Donna Elvira – Nuccia Focile

Masetto – Gary Griffiths
Zerlina – Claire Ormshaw


Meriel Andrew
Anitra Balxhall
Paula Bradbury
Claire Hampton
Fiona Harrison
Rosie Hay
Samantha Hay
Emma Llewellyn

Amanda Baldwin
Neda Bizzarri
Jessica Handley-Greaves
Carolyn Jackson
Sian Meinir
Sarah Pope
Louise Ratcliffe

Simon Buttle
Philip Lloyd Holtam
Howard Kirk
Gareth Lloyd
Huw Llewelyn
Philip Pooley
Carthaigh Quill

Laurence Cole
Martin Lloyd
Alastair Moore
George Newton-Fitzgerald
Jack O’Kelly
James Robinson-May
Stephen Wells


Don Giovanni – Duncan Rock
Leporello – Pyotr Lempa
Commendatore – Paul Hudson
Donna Anna – Naomi Harvey
Don Ottavio – Eamonn Marshall
Donna Elvira – Claire Surman
Zerlina – Samantha Hay
Masetto – Stephen Wells