A Musical by Alain Boublil & Claude-Michel SchÖnberg
Based on the novel by Victor Hugo
Lyrics by Herbert Kretzmer
Music by Claude-Michel SchÖnberg
Original Text by Alain Boublil & Jean-Marc Natel
Additional Material by James Fenton

Cameron Mackintosh


The first US production of Les Misérables opened in Washington DC on 27th December 1987 before moving to New York where it opened at the Broadway Theatre on 12th March 1987.

The show was produced by Cameron Mackintosh in association with the Kennedy Centre for the Performing Arts - Roger Stevens, Chairman.

Creative Team

Adapted and Directed by Trevor Nunn and John Caird
Designer - John Napier
Lighting - David Hersey
Costumes - Andreane Neofitou
Orchestrations - John Cameron
Musical Supervision and direction - Robert Billig
Sound - Andrew Bruce & Autograph
Associate Scenic Design by Keith Gonzales
Associate Sound Design by Abe Jacob
Associate Director – Richard Jay-Alexander
Executive Producer – Martin McCallum
Casting - Vinnie Liff & Geoff Johnson
General Manager – Alan Wasser
Associate Gen. Manager - Barbara Seinfeld
Company Manager Gordon G. Forbes
Associate Company Manager - Beth Riedmann
Production Stage Manager - Sam Stickler
Stage Managers - Mitchell Lemsky & Fredric Hanson
Technical Production Manager - John H. Paull, III

General Press Representative - The Fred Nathan Company & Anne S. Abrams Casting – Geoff Johnson and Vinnie Liff
Advertising and Logo Design by Dewynters
Advertising - Serino, Coyne & Nappi

Production Photographer - Michael Le Poer Trench


Jean Valjean – Colm Wilkinson
Javert – Terence Mann
Bishop of Digne – Norman Large
Constables – Alex Santoriello & Steve Schockett

Fantine – Randy Graff
Foreman – Paul Harman
Factory Girl – Ann Crumb

Old Woman – Cindy Benson
Crone – Joanna Glushak
Bamatabois – Anthony Crivello
Fauchelevent – Steve Shockett

Little Cosette – Donna Vivino/Chrissie McDonald
Little Eponine – Brandy Brown
Madame Thénardier – Jennifer Butt
Thénardier – Leo Burmester

Gavroche – Braden Danner/R.D.Robb

Enjolras – Michael Maguire
Marius – David Bryant
Eponine – Frances Ruffelle

Montparnasse – Alex Santoriello
Babet – Marcus Lovett
Brujon – Kevin Marcum
Claquesous – Steve Schockett

Cosette – Judy Kuhn


Combeferre – Paul Harman
Feuilly – Joseph Kolinski
Courfeyrac – Jesse Corti
Joly – John Dewar
Grantaire – Anthony Crivello
Lesgles – Norman Large
Jean Prouvaire – John Norman

Male Ensemble

Jesse Corti, Anthony Crivello, John Dewar, Paul Harman, Joseph Kolinski,Norman Large, Marcus Lovett, Kevin Marcum, John Norman, Alex Santoriello, Steve Shocket


Female Ensemble

Cindy Benson, Jane Bodle, Ann Crumb, Joanna Glushak, Susan Goodman, Gretchen Kingsley-Weihe, Kelli James, Marcie Shaw


Music Credits

Conducted by Robert Billig
Musical Supervisor: Robert Billig
Concert Master: Louann Montesi
Violin: Fred Buldrini, Katherine Cash, Suzanne Ornstein, Marion Pinheiro, Marti Sweet, Mitsue Takayama and Mineko Yajima
Cello: Batia Lieberman and Clay C. Ruede
Clarinet and Alto Saxophone: Mitchell Weiss
Trumpet, Piccolo Trumpet, Flugelhorn: David Gale and Robert Zottola
Trumpet and Piccolo Trumpet: Pete Hyde
Bass Trombone: John Rojack
Guitar: Brian Koonin
Drums: Michael Hinton
Flute and Piccolo: Jacqueline Giat
Oboe and English Horn: Harriet Orenstein
Percussion: Howard Joines
Bass: Lindsey Horner
French Horn: Jerry W. Peel and Brooks Tillotson
Synthesizer: Jeffrey Silverman and Ross Allen

Music Preparation: Chelsea Music Services, Inc.