Jane Eyre

Music and Lyrics by Paul Gordon
Book & additional lyrics by John Caird
From the original novel by Charlotte BrontË

This world première production of Jane Eyre opened at the Wichita Centre for the Arts, in Wichita, Kansas on 29th November 1995. 

Jane Eyre is published by Music Theatre International (MTI) in New York and is available for professional and amateur production worldwide.  For further information about the show and upcoming productions click here.

Creative Team

Director - John Caird
Set Design – John Napier
Costume Design – Scott Rott
Lighting Design – Sean Roberson
Sound Design – Tracy Tuttle
Prop Design – Tom Mittlestadt
Orchestrator – Larry Hochman
Vocal Arrangements – Michael Rafter
Musical Arrangements - Laura Bergquist
Musical Supervisor – Michael Rafter
Assistant Director – Michelle Joyner
Production Stage Manager – Jenny Robinson
Producing Director – Kathryn Page-Hauptman



Jane Eyre – Marla Schaffel

Jane’s Father – Anthony Crivello
Jane’s Mother – Heather Ayers
Young Jane – Jennifer Bedore/Taryn Southern
John Reed Sr – Paul Jackson
Mrs Reed – Charlene Ayers
Eliza Reed – Alexa Teichgraber
Georgiana Reed – Natasha Neely
John Reed Jr – Ryan Bogner
Bessie – Heather Bloomgren

Mr Brocklehurst – Don Richard
Miss Temple – Heather Ayers
Miss Scatcherd – Martha Hawley
Helen Burns – Angela Lockett
Schoolgirls –             Allison Anderson, Mackenzie Brown, Christina Cox, Michelle Dalrymple, Megan Drew, Tracy Gardner, Natasha Neely, Chatney Noble, Elizabeth Skrebes, Alexa Teichgraber, Dayna Walker

Mrs Fairfax – Martha Hawley
Adèle Varens – Ashley Sinclair
Grace Poole – Charlene Ayers

Edward Fairfax Rochester – Anthony Crivello

Lady Ingram – Charlene Ayers
Lord Ingram – Charles Parker
Blanche Ingram – Nicole Dooley
Mary Ingram – Mary Jeanette Warlick
Mr Eshton – Paul Jackson
Louisa Eshton – Angela Lockett
Amy Eshton – Tracy Gardner
Lady Lynn – Heather Bloomgren
Frederick Lynn – Chad Frisque
Colonel Dent – Don Richard
Mrs Dent – Heather Ayers

Richard Mason – Charles Parker
Dr Carter – Paul Jackson
Coachman – Paul Jackson
John Eyre of Madeira – Charles Parker
Bertha Mason – Heather Ayers
Clergyman – Charles Parker
Mr Briggs – Don Richard

St John Rivers – Chad Frisque
Diana Rivers – Heather Bloomgren
Mary Rivers – Nicole Dooley
Hannah - Angela Lockett
Old Man – Don Richard
Vicar – Chad Frisque

Other parts played by members of the company.