Jane Eyre

Music and Lyrics by Paul Gordon
Book & additional lyrics by John Caird
From the original novel by Charlotte BrontË



This production of Jane Eyre opened at the Royal Alexandra Theatre in Toronto on 22nd November 1996. 

Jane Eyre is published by Music Theatre International (MTI) in New York and is available for professional and amateur production worldwide.  For further information about the show and upcoming productions click here.

Creative Team

Director - John Caird
Set Design – John Napier
Costume Design – Andreane Neofitou
Lighting Design – Chris Parry
Sound Design – Tom Clark
Orchestrator – Larry Hochman
Vocal Arrangements – Steve Tyler, Michael Rafter & Jeff Halpern
Musical Arrangements - Laura Bergquist
Associate Set Design – Keith Gonzales
Dance & Movement – Jayne Paterson
Music Director – Steve Tyler
Associate Conductor – David J, Thompson
Assistant Conductor – Bruce Harvey
Music Preparation – Holy Carroll & Laura Bergquist
Script and Movement Consultant – Kelly Robinson
Assistant Director – Kevin McGuire


Producers and Administration

Producers – David & Ed Mirvish
Associate Producers - Pamela Koslow & Janet Robinson.
Executive Producer – Brian Sewell
Production Manager – John Wilbur
Production Stage Manager – The John Gray
Stage Manager – Darragh Parsons
Assistant Stage Manager – Anne Murphy
Company Manager – Charles Chu
Assistant Company Manager – Rina Fine
Production Assistant – Andrew Burke-Hall
Photos by Gina Ferrall & Cylla Von Tiedeman



Jane Eyre – Marla Schaffel

Jane’s Father – Anthony Crivello
Jane’s Mother – Jayne Paterson
Young Jane – Sara Farb
Mrs Reed – Brooks Almy
Eliza Reed – Lavonda Elam
Georgiana Reed – Kelli Rabke
Young John Reed – Peter McCutcheon

Mr Brocklehurst – Don Richard
Miss Scatcherd – Gina Ferrall
Miss Temple – Nell Balaban
Helen Burns – Angela Lockett
Schoolgirls –             Elizabeth Beeler, Frannie Diggins, Lavonda Elam, Elizabeth de Grazia, Jayne Paterson, Jen Waiser

Mrs Fairfax – Mary Stout
Robert – Bruce Dow
Adèle Varens – Frannie Diggins
Grace Poole – Brooks Almy

Edward Fairfax Rochester – Anthony Crivello

Lady Ingram – Beth Anne Cole
Lord Ingram – Aloysius Gigl
Blanche Ingram – Elizabeth de Grazia
Mary Ingram – Lavonda Elam
Mr Eshton – Mark E. Smith
Mrs Eshton – Elizabeth Beeler
Louisa Eshton – Angela Lockett
Amy Eshton – Kelli Rabke
Lord Lynn – Bill Nolte
Lady Lynn – Gina Ferrall
Frederick Lynn – Peter McCutcheon
Henry Lynn – Bruce Dow
Colonel Dent – Don Richard
Mrs Dent – Nell Balaban

Richard Mason – Bill Nolte
Dr Carter – Bruce Dow
Butler – Aloysius Gigl
Coachman – Mark E. Smith
John Eyre of Madeira – Kevin McGuire
Vicar – Kevin McGuire
Mr Briggs – Don Richard
Bertha Mason – Gina Ferrall

St John Rivers – Aloysius Gigl
Diana Rivers – Elizabeth Beeler
Mary Rivers – Kelli Rabke
Old Man – Don Richard

Other parts played by members of the company.